Tuesday, July 07, 2009

MS Progressive Types: Frequently asked Questions

This series on Progressive MS for the MS Section of Health Central is winding down. This one summarizes the topic with a question-answer format.  There is one left.  The FAQ article was first published June 24. Here it is --

MS Progressive Types:
 Frequently Asked Questions

This series of articles about Progressive MS has a lot of information, and not all of it is easy to understand. Perhaps a good way to review the subject is to cover some of the frequently asked questions.

How do I know if my MS is a Progressive type?
MS may start with an attack followed by a continual increase in the symptom severity, and that is Primary Progressive MS. 

If MS starts with a Relapsing/Remitting course, it will probably advance between ten and forty years, and the clear relapses will be replaced by a gradual worsening of symptoms. When there are no longer periods of recovery, that is Secondary Progressive MS.

Besides the functional characteristics, doctors can see that MS has advanced to a progressive course by using an EDSS (Expanded Disability Status Scale). The EDSS is a standardized measure of global neurological impairment often used in MS to determine type and severity. The National MS Society explains the scale.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Sorry for my bad english. I would like to get updated with you new posts as I love to read your blog. Add me to your mailing list if you have any.